3 things that irk me about the beauty world

I’m going to try my best to not turn this into a rant blog post, but I have some negative things to say. This post reflects my personal opinion only!

1 – MAC Limited Edition Collections.

MAC Cosmetics release limited edition sets continuously throughout the year. From my own knowledge either 100% or at least 90% of the colours/items are new and only apart of the collection. I get the point of creating collections, and creating hype by making them limited edition. But why oh why only have a TINY amount of it?! Clearly MAC is popular, every girl I speak to know of them or own some of their products. I honestly think that MAC doesn’t need to limit the amount of products they create for each collection.

Not only do I think the amount of products per collection is ridiculous, I also hate how vague they are in release dates and times. You pretty much have to stalk the website waiting for it to appear, and even if you have the items in your cart when you go to pay they can disappear! Or even worse, like some girls I know that recently purchased from the Cinderella collection, they get emails saying the products were unavailable even though they purchased them and have tracking numbers.

I purchased my LE Lipstick through David Jones, no hassles and I chose in-store pickup. Hassle free and I think what I will be doing in the future if another LE collection is appealing to me!

IMG_59012 – Filters and Over-editing Photographs.

It’s actually sad and annoying when you’re scrolling though Instagram and almost every single picture has blurred spots, or have high contrast. What makes it worse, is when the blurring is done badly and you can CLEARLY see where they’ve done it and where they haven’t. At most all I correct in my images is white balance and sometimes I increase the brightness if the lighting in my bathroom/bedroom isn’t that great. Sure I’ve used some Instagram filters, who hasn’t?

I totally get if you don’t like your skin, lack self confidence or it boosts your confidence to blur out your pores/facial hair. I’ve felt that and been there, pretty sure we all have. But if you’re going to do it on every picture, make it uniform and learn some basic photoshop. I follow some girls on Instagram who blur their skin on every picture, it’s obvious but it looks nice because it’s well done. Don’t use shitty phone apps and rely on your finger to paint the blur on. Also know if people see you in real life they’ll know instantly what you do to your images.

I know a lot of people will take offence to this point, but coming from a photography background it’s not that hard to learn simple photoshop techniques.

IMG_59253 – Keyboard Warriors.

I spend more time on YouTube reading comments than actually watching videos, and the amount of hatred on there is unbelievable. For example the recent makeup collection video Jaclyn Hill uploaded, just go and look at the comments. It’s not just women who hate on women, it’s anyone and everyone. I get being “famous” you have to know things like this are bound to happen, but why do they have to happen? Wayne Goss is known for upsetting keyboard warriors by expressing his thoughts on his channel, people go mental at him for doing so. It’s not just people disagreeing, it’s hatred as well.

I could go on for hours on this topic, but it’s exhausting. I hate seeing horrible things written on any platform, no matter how strong you are it will still affect you. Bullies and harassment is not and will not ever be ok.

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 1.33.50 pmSo yep.

❤ MJG

3 things that irk me about the beauty world

3 thoughts on “3 things that irk me about the beauty world

  1. *Stands up and claps* I really dislike blur tool, Skin should look like skin who are they fooling? It can get you really down when you compare your own skin to these obviously heavily editing pictures, and I am an adult. I can only imagine what it is doing to younger men and women and their body image! x

    Becoming Becca

  2. Sometimes there seems to be a lack of brain going around. It seems like people either are obsessed by beauty bloggers/YouTubers or they sincerely hate them.
    Somehow a lot of people have trouble clicking alt+f4 or use the tiny x up in the corner.

    If they don’t like things, then stop watching or reading it. How hard is it.

    Internet is here to make everyone public property or a victim of hate.

    And I don’t get those people. Either there is something wrong with me or I’m just not that obsessed about people.

Leave a comment