Long lasting

Isn’t that word coming up a lot these days? Foundation, nail polish, eye shadow, but mainly lipstick! I think every woman wants lipstick that is low maintenance and doesn’t smear all over your face if you have a sip of water. There are sooo many different types of ‘long lasting’ lipsticks out there, they even spread to lip stains. I love lip stains, but that’s for another post.

csm_74867_e19474479cI’m always on the hunt for a new red lipstick, I LOVE red lipstick. It really suits my skin tone, and it makes me feel like a 1950’s goddess. So the other day I was in my favourite Priceline looking around on my lunch break. Pretty much every make-up brand now has long lasting products, especially lipstick. I’m on a tight budget with my wedding approaching, so I was looking for something either cheap or on special. I came up to the Essence stand and was admiring their new nail polish range when I spotted their own version of long lasting lipstick. At only $4.10 I snapped up a red one (02 ‘all you need is red’) to try. And boy was I in for a treat…

 

 

essence redThe colour wasn’t as pure red as I would’ve liked, however the pinky tones in it really suited my skin tone, so I wasn’t that put off by it.The lipstick is very pigmented, I only had to wipe it onto my lips in one stroke to gain full colouring. There was no streaking and it glided onto my lips wonderfully. It soaked into my lips however didn’t dry them out, I think it may have a bit of stain in it, as it was hard to remove at the end of the day. I wore it an entire day at work, firstly the edges were perfect and I didn’t even wear a lip liner. No bleeding and the edges didn’t move when I guzzled down water all day. I only had to reapply it twice throughout the day, once after lunch and later in the afternoon as it had faded slightly.

red lipsI am so happy with this lipstick, I couldn’t believe that for only $4.10 I found pretty much a perfect red lipstick. I’m so happy and excited that I’m going to buy some other colours when I next can get to a Priceline!

❤ MJG

 

Long lasting

One thought on “Long lasting

Leave a comment